Introduction

What the hell do I think I’m doing?

First, let me explain type 1 diabetes. Type 1 diabetes is an autoimmune disorder wherein the body attacks its own pancreas. This leaves the body unable to produce insulin, which is responsible for processing carbohydrates (which are converted into sugar within the body after consumption) and sugar. So, unable to produce this vital hormone, I must take insulin injections every day.

The amount of insulin I take is proportional to the amount of carbohydrates I consume. Therefore, eating a low carb diet is much safer for me, because the smaller the amount of insulin and carbohydrates is, the smaller the margin of error with my insulin calculations. I must maintain a stable blood sugar level manually; going too high (hyperglycemia) over time causes diabetic complications and going too low (hypoglycemia) is dangerous and can lead to loss of consciousness.

Where do you come in? All this low carb hullabaloo has led me to a lot of research on the nature of the foods we eat.

The foods we eat are killing us. Too much sugar, too much processed food (think anything that comes in a box or is served at a fast food restaurant), too much nutrient depleted produce loaded with pesticides, growth hormones and antibiotics in our milk, and countless other terrible problems mar our daily diet. High fructose corn syrup accounts for approximately 25% of America’s caloric intake. Public schools are serving chicken nuggets and french fries for lunch. Even seemingly safe foods can be dangerous; for example, most lunch meats (as well as hot dogs) have unsafe levels of nitrites, which have been linked to cancer. This is not acceptable.

People have health problems. Cancer rates are skyrocketing exponentially, and as many as 50% of Americans will have cancer during their lifetime. Obesity is not the only enemy; rather than a problem, I see it as a symptom of the wider nutritional crisis in the world today. People are not getting the vitamins, nutrients, enzymes, and general balance in their diets that can keep them healthy. Any number of health problems can be prevented by a balanced diet (and I don’t mean according to the food pyramid). This is a major societal crisis that needs to be dealt with.

Major food corporations spend billions of dollars advertising food that is clearly terrible for our health. They even advertise junk foods to children, a practiced restricted in many countries around the world. Worse, now many corporations are pretending to be leaders in the healthy food movement. This is garbage, and they cannot be trusted. For example, many products claim to be trans fat free, but you can see right on the label they contain partially hydrogenated whatever oil. This is malicious deception, yet 90% of the money spent on food goes to processed foods. We need to be responsible consumers.

Healthy food is especially important for me, and I don’t consider eating healthy food an option. I’m taking responsibility for my health, and I feel healthier than I ever have, despite my condition. That’s what this blog is about:

Take responsibility for your health.

Issues I plan to cover include concerns about sugars, concerns about sugar alternatives, what non-diabetics should know about insulin, the rise in vegetable oil consumption, public school foods, weight gain and metabolism, processed foods and modern grocery stores, organic foods and farming, soil, the meat industry, the agriculture industry, food marketing, low carb diets, different types of fat, metabolic typing, information about diabetes, and whatever research and information I come across that will keep us healthy.

Thanks for reading.

Leave a Reply

